Competition Spotlight: The Nick Darke Award

The Nick Darke Award rewards, promotes and inspires writers for screen, stage and radio in memory of Nick Darke’s amazing writing legacy. It is run by Falmouth University. This year, the stage play is the category.

Entry fee: Free

Scope: International

Prize: £6000 to financially support them, and assist in working on their script, as well as mentorship.

Deadline: May 30



Margaret Matheson – Producer of dramatic fiction for both cinema and television; credits include Original Scum, Abigail’s Party, and the Oscar winning Antonia’s Line

Jeremy Howe – Drama Commissioning Editor for Radio 4

Molly Dineen – BAFTA and Royal Television Society award-winning UK television documentary director, cinematographer and producer

Roger Michell – Theatre, television and film director whose work includes Notting Hill, Changing Lanes and Morning Glory

Carl Grose – Writer, director, actor and the first winner of the Nick Darke Award, who has written for organisations including Kneehigh, Told By An Idiot, National Theatre, Soho Theatre, and BBC TV and radio

Henry Darke – Writer-director


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s